Funding Opportunities

In response to COVID-19, Rhode Island has made funding available to support relief and recovery and address the needs of the early childhood sector. This page will be updated as new opportunities emerge.

On this page, you can find the following information:

  • ReInvigorate Child Care Stabilization Grants
  • Early Educator Pandemic Retention Bonuses
  • Family Child Care Start-Up Grants

Little girl wearing a mask

ReInvigorate Child Care Stabilization Grants

The ReInvigorate Child Care Stabilization Grants program is a grant opportunity for DHS-licensed child care providers to stabilize their business operations and ensure that they can continue providing safe care.

Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS) was awarded federal funds through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021 to be directed to eligible child care providers via Child Care Stabilization Grants. The application window closed on February 18, 2022. Home-based providers received 1 lump-sum payment of 6 monthly grants and Child Care Centers receive 2 installments of 3 monthly grants each. 3 months following the receipt of a Center’s initial award, they become eligible to “Recertify” and receive their second installment of grant funds. The distribution of Center Recertification awards is ongoing.

  • Am I eligible for a stabilization grant?

    Any licensed child care provider (or active license-exempt) in the state of Rhode Island that is open, available to provide care or temporarily closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic is eligible to receive a grant. The following providers are eligible:

    • Licensed Child Care Center
    • Licensed Family Child Care Home
    • Licensed Group Family Child Care Home
    • Active License-Exempt Provider

  • How much will my program receive?
    Provider Type Monthly Grant Amount Payment Amount
    Child Care Center Varies based on number of classrooms and licensed capacity. Monthly grants begin at $4,500 per classroom. Varies. Centers may receive up to 6 monthly grants based on two separate grant applications and awards (of 3 monthly grants each). A potential 10% Staff Bonus Add-on may be applied to the second award, pending program spending plan.
    Grants are capped at $50,000 per licensed center per month.
    Family Child Care Home $2,000 $12,000 (6 monthly grants in 1 lump sum payment)
    Group Family Child Care Home $3,000 $18,000 (6 monthly grants in 1 lump sum payment)
    License-exempt provider $400 $2,400 (6 monthly grants in 1 lump sum payment)
  • What can the funds be used for?
    Allowable use of funds Examples
    Equipment or supplies to respond to COVID-19 Purchases of or updates to equipment and supplies to respond to the COVID–19 public health emergency, such as business software upgrades, room dividers, or floor stickers for social distancing.
    Goods or services necessary to maintain child care services Goods and services necessary to maintain or resume child care services. Goods may include: food, equipment and materials to facilitate play, learning, eating, diapering/toileting, and safe sleep. Services may include business automation training, child care management services, food services, or transportation. This may also include fees associated with licensing and costs associated with meeting licensing requirements.
    Mental Health Supports Mental health supports for children and employees. This may include: infant and early childhood mental health consultation, or mental health consultations for staff.
    Personnel Costs Personnel costs, including payroll and salaries or similar compensation for an employee (including any sole proprietor or independent contractor), employee benefits (such as health, dental, or vision insurance; paid sick or family leave; and retirement contributions), premium or hazard pay, or costs for employee recruitment and retention. Personnel costs may also include: ongoing professional development or training, premium or hazard pay, staff bonuses, and employee transportation costs to or from work.
    Personal Protective Equipment Personal protective equipment, cleaning and sanitization supplies and services, or training and professional development related to health and safety practices.
    Rent or mortgage Rent (including rent under a lease agreement) or payment on any mortgage obligation, utilities, facility maintenance or improvements, or insurance.

Quick Links:

Grant Overview - ENGLISH SPANISH
Frequently Asked Questions Updated - ENGLISH SPANISH
Step-by-Step Application Guide: Centers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Step-by-Step Application Guide: Family Child Care - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 1 - Child Care Centers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 1 - Home-Based Providers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 1 Script- Child Care Centers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 1 Script- Home-Based Providers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 2- Child Care CentersENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 2- Home-Based ProvidersENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 2 Script- Child Care Centers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 2 Script- Home-Based Providers - ENGLISH SPANISH
Webinar 3: Recertification Application - Centers - ENGLISH
"I Received a Grant, Now What?" Fillable Document - ENGLISH SPANISH
Tuition Assistance One-Pager - ENGLISH SPANISH
Provider Checklist - ENGLISH SPANISH
Application Tips - ENGLISH SPANISH
How to Create an Applicant Profile - ENGLISH SPANISH
Grant Recordkeeping Guidance - ENGLISH SPANISH
Business Resources Toolkit: Child Care Centers
Business Resources Toolkit: Family Child Care - ENGLISH SPANISH

Kids in a classroom Kids playing with adult

Early Educator Pandemic Retention Bonuses

The RI Department of Human Services (DHS) is excited to facilitate the administration of the Early Educator Pandemic Retention Bonus program. This program is funded through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) State Fiscal Recovery Fund (SFRF), as appropriated by Governor Dan McKee and the General Assembly. This program is intended to invest in early educators by offering bonuses to direct child care staff employed at licensed child care providers. Intended to supplement educators’ compensation to support retention and recruitment in the early learning sector, the program will also recognize the vital work that early educators do in supporting the State’s littlest learners. Full time and part-time employees at licensed center or family child care programs ¬ who work directly with children during some portion of the average day may be eligible to apply.

  • When should I apply?
    Window Timeline Funding Amount Eligibility Criteria
    Application Window #1 March 18, 2022- April 22, 2022 $1,500.00
    • Full-time or part-time employee of a DHS-licensed child care program
    • Providing direct care to children during some portion of the average day of operation
    • Employed for at least 6 consecutive months (at the same licensed program) as of December 1, 2021
    Application Window #2 June 1, 2022- June 30, 2022 $1,500.00
    • Full-time or part-time employee of a DHS-licensed child care program
    • Providing direct care to children during some portion of the average day of operation
    • Employed for at least 6 consecutive months as of June 1, 2022
  • How do I apply?
      • How to access:Complete an Eligibility Form here: https://bit.ly/DHSEligibilityForm. The form will gather basic information, including your name, email, DHS-licensed program where you work and your role. This form will take approximately 5 minutes. This application may be completed on a computer, tablet, or mobile device.

      • Purpose: This Eligibility Form will be used to verify your employment. Information gathered in this form will shared by email with your DHS-licensed program employer for verification of your employment. Once verified, you will be emailed the link to the full application.
      • How to access: The link to the full application will be sent directly to your email (as submitted in the Eligibility Form) from childcaregrants@pcgus.com. Additional instructions will be included in this email. This application may be completed on a computer, tablet, or mobile device.

Quick Links:

Pandemic Retention Bonuses: Grant Overview - ENGLISH SPANISH
Pandemic Retention Bonuses: FAQ - ENGLISH SPANISH
Pandemic Retention Bonuses: Webinar - ENGLISH SPANISH
Pandemic Retention Bonuses: Webinar Script - ENGLISH SPANISH

Family Child Care Start-Up Grants

The Family Child Care Start-Up Grant program will help increase the number of newly licensed Family Child Care (FCC) providers in the State. Designed to help stabilize the child care sector, the start-up grants will assist providers in opening 100 new FCC homes through grants of up to $2,000 in addition to receiving technical assistance to successfully open. Funded through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) State Fiscal Recovery Fund (SFRF) — as appropriated by Governor Dan McKee and the General Assembly — the grant program will support the need to increase capacity in a vital part of a mixed-delivery system.

If you are interested in becoming a newly licensed FCC provider, please contact ChildCareGrants@pcgus.com or call 833-930-3540 for assistance in English or Spanish.

  • Who can apply?

    To be eligible for this grant, you are either:

    1. A recently DHS-licensed Family Child Care provider, (licensed a maximum 30 days prior to submitting this grant application); or
    2. In the process of becoming a DHS-licensed Family Child Care provider.

    -To become a licensed Family Child Care provider, you should follow the instructions outlined by the Center for Early Learning.

    Professionals: DHS Licensing Orientation for Family Child Care Home Providers (English).

  • How do I apply?

    Eligible providers can access the application by visiting this link: https://bit.ly/FCCStartupGrant


Quick Links:

FCC Start-Up Grants: Overview - ENGLISH SPANISH
FCC Start-Up Grants: FAQ - ENGLISH SPANISH
FCC Start-Up Grants: Budget Planning Worksheet - ENGLISH SPANISH